Coppélia
Ballet

Comical ballet to music by Léo Delibes
Premiere 18.03.2023

  • Premiere
  • Recommended age: 10+

Turmoil and confusion over a dancing doll

Swanilda and Franz are engaged to be married. But she starts to doubt his love when he responds to the advances of the mysterious Coppélia. By chance, Swanilda discovers that the amazingly beautiful Coppélia is just a mechanical doll and devises a plan to reclaim the heart of her fiancé Franz. The ballet classic is based on E. T. A. Hoffmann's disturbing short story ‹The Sandman›. However, in this case, the horror element of a lifelike doll is set against the backdrop of an ideal world. Edward Clug is able to combine both emotions in his evening of modern dance and complements the vivacious original music by Léo Delibes with new compositions by Milko Lazar. The luxurious interior created by the highly successful industrial designer Nika Zupanc ensures a seductively playful verve permeates around Coppélia on stage. Clug evokes the mysterious and the bizarre by embracing the magic of beauty.

Shortly before the premiere, during the final rehearsals, we invite you to take an exclusive look behind the scenes. During an initial introduction, you will get to know the artistic team and learn more about the production, inspiration and staging. Afterwards you will witness a stage rehearsal.

  • Look behind the scenes
  • Shortly before the premiere
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • CHF 10
  • Usually in German
  • Date: 2 September 2022

Fully trained teachers take care of your children while you enjoy the performance. Book when purchasing your tickets, or at the latest two days before the performance at billettkasse@theater-basel.ch.

Date: 25 June 2023 

The culinary theatre experience. Combine your visit to the theatre with a multi-course menu at the revamped Monteverdi bar at the heart of the theatre. Can be booked for select performances at the ticket office and in the ticket shop. More 

Supported by Kantonsspital Baselland, the Medical Partner of  Ballett Theater Basel.

  • 14.03.
    2023-03-14 18:30:00 2023-03-14 20:30:00 Europe/Zurich Coppélia Info: https://www.theater-basel.ch/en/coppelia
    Foyer
    Theater Basel Theaterstrasse 7 4051 Basel
  • 18.03.
  • 24.03.
  • 01.04.
  • 16.04.
  • 23.04.
  • 24.04.
  • 27.04.
  • 05.05.
  • 17.05.
  • 20.05.
  • 27.05.
  • 31.05.
  • 02.06.
  • 04.06.
  • 10.06.
  • 18.06.
  • 25.06.

Coppélia
Ballett

Komisches Ballett zur Musik von Léo Delibes
Premiere 18.03.2023

  • Uraufführung
  • Altersempfehlung: 10+

Aufruhr und Verwechslungen wegen einer tanzenden Puppe

Swanilda und Franz sind verlobt. Doch sie zweifelt an seiner Treue, als er der geheimnisvollen Coppélia nachstellt. Durch einen Zufall entdeckt Swanilda, dass die übermenschlich schöne Coppélia nur eine Puppe ist, und fasst einen Plan, wie sie Franz’ Herz zurückgewinnen kann. Der Ballettklassiker beruht auf E. T. A. Hoffmanns unheimlicher Erzählung ‹Der Sandmann›. Das Schauermotiv der lebendigen Puppe wird hier aber in einer heilen Welt angesiedelt. Edward Clug kombiniert beide Stimmungen in seinem modernen Tanzabend und ergänzt die heitere Originalmusik von Léo Delibes mit Neukompositionen von Milko Lazar. Durch das Luxus-Interieur der erfolgreichen Industrial Designerin Nika Zupanc entsteht auf der Bühne eine verführerisch verspielte Atmosphäre um Coppélia. So nähert sich Clug dem Unheimlichen und Phantastischen über die Magie der Schönheit.

Kurz vor der Premiere, während der Endproben, laden wir zu einem ersten exklusiven Einblick ein. In einer Einführung lernen Sie das künstlerische Team kennen und erfahren mehr zu Stück, Stoff und Inszenierung. Anschliessend besuchen Sie eine Bühnenprobe.

  • Treffpunkt Foyer
  • 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
  • In der Regel auf Deutsch
  • CHF 10.–
  • Termin: 2. September 2022

Ausgebildete Pädagog:innen betreuen Ihre Kinder, während Sie die Vorstellung besuchen. Nach Anmeldung beim Kartenkauf oder spätestens zwei Tage vorher unter billettkasse@theater-basel.ch.

  • Termin: 25. Juni 2023

Das kulinarische Theatererlebnis. Verbinden Sie Ihren Theaterbesuch mit einem Mehr-Gänge-Menü in der neu eingerichteten Monteverdibar mitten im Theater. Das Menü beginnt jeweils 1 Stunde 30 Minuten vor Stückbeginn.

Buchbar ab dem 1.4.2023  bei der Billettkasse und im Ticketshop für folgende Vorstellung von ‹Coppélia›: 20.5.2023, 18:00 Uhr.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch den Medical Partner des Ballett Theater Basel, das Kantonsspital Baselland

  • 18.03.
    Uhr
  • 24.03.
    Uhr
  • 01.04.
    Uhr
  • 16.04.
    Uhr
  • 23.04.
    Uhr
  • 24.04.
    Uhr
  • 27.04.
    Uhr
  • 05.05.
    Uhr
  • 07.05.
    Uhr
  • 17.05.
    Uhr
  • 20.05.
    Uhr
  • 27.05.
    Uhr
  • 31.05.
    Uhr
  • 02.06.
    Uhr
  • 04.06.
    Uhr
  • 10.06.
    Uhr
  • 18.06.
    Uhr
  • 25.06.
    Uhr