Requiem
Opera

Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and others

Premiere 20.04.2024


  • 1 hour 50 minutes without intermission
  • Interesting for people from 14+
  • In Latin, with German surtitles, with English surtitles

An ode to life

Mozart's unfinished 'Requiem' as a visually powerful and stirring scenic meditation on disappearance and transience. Complemented by lesser-known sacred works by Mozart, the requiem is transformed into a celebration of life in Romeo Castellucci's production. In ritualistic choreographies, the choir and a group of dancers merge into the energy centre of the evening. Having fallen victim to Corona in the 20/21 season, the now internationally acclaimed co-production with the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence and the Adelaide Festival finally comes to Basel. Ivor Bolton, principal conductor of the Basel Symphony Orchestra, will conduct.

In co-production with the Adelaide Festival and the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence.

Shortly before the premiere, during the final rehearsals, we invite you to a first exclusive insight. In an introduction you will get to know the artistic team and learn more about the play, the material and the production. Afterwards you will visit a stage rehearsal.

  • Meeting point Foyer
  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Usually in German
  • CHF 10.-
  • Date: 15 April 2024

For selected opera performances there are now two exclusive seats in the orchestra pit. Observe the interaction between conductor and musicians and experience the orchestral sound at close quarters.

Book online

Together with the dramaturgy, the Basel Kulturhaus Bider & Tanner has been curating the book table for our plays for many years. Now this selection of books, CDs, DVDs, catalogues or even sheet music can be accessed at any time in the online shop. It's worth browsing regularly.

Book table

With the friendly support of the Gönnerkreis

Mediathek

Requiem
Oper

Musik von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und anderen


  • 1 Stunde 50 Minuten ohne Pause
  • Interessant für Menschen ab 12+
  • In lateinischer Sprache, mit deutschen Übertiteln, with English surtitles

Eine Ode an das Leben

Mozarts unvollendetes ‹Requiem› als bildgewaltige und aufwühlende szenische Meditation über das Verschwinden und die Vergänglichkeit. Ergänzt mit unbekannteren geistlichen Werken Mozarts, verwandelt sich die Totenmesse in der Inszenierung Romeo Castelluccis in eine Feier des Lebens. In ritualhaften Choreographien verschmelzen der Chor und eine Gruppe Tänzer:innen zum Energiezentrum des Abends. In der Spielzeit 20/21 Corona zum Opfer gefallen, kommt die mittlerweile international gefeierte Koproduktion mit dem Festival d’Aix-en-Provence und dem Adelaide Festival endlich nach Basel. Am Pult steht Ivor Bolton, Chefdirigent des Basler Sinfonieorchesters.

In Koproduktion mit dem Adelaide Festival und dem Festival d’Aix-en-Provence

Kurz vor der Premiere, während der Endproben, laden wir zu einem ersten exklusiven Einblick ein. In einer Einführung lernen Sie das künstlerische Team kennen und erfahren mehr zu Stück, Stoff und Inszenierung. Anschliessend besuchen Sie eine Bühnenprobe.

  • Treffpunkt Foyer
  • 1 Stunde 30 Minuten
  • In der Regel auf Deutsch
  • CHF 10.–
  • Termin: 15. April 2024

Bei ausgewählten Opernvorstellungen gibt es neu zwei exklusive Plätze im Orchestergraben. Beobachten Sie das Zusammenspiel von Dirigent:in und Musiker:innen und erleben Sie den Orchesterklang aus unmittelbarer Nähe.

Online buchen

Gemeinsam mit der Dramaturgie kuratiert das Basler Kulturhaus Bider & Tanner seit vielen Jahren den Büchertisch zu unseren Stücken. Jetzt ist diese Auswahl an Büchern, CD, DVD, Katalogen oder auch Noten jederzeit im Onlineshop zugänglich. Es lohnt sich, regelmässig zu stöbern.

Büchertisch

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch den Gönnerkreis