Antigone
Theatre

From Lucien Haug to Sophocles

Premiere 08.09.2023

  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn

  • Premiere
  • 1 hour 45 minutes without intermission
  • Interesting for people from 13+
  • Mit deutschen Übertiteln
  • With English surtitles (except for the premiere)

A tragedy based on Sophocles in a version in Swiss German by Lucien Haug

Antigone contradicts. Her brother died on the battlefield as a traitor. King Creon refuses to pay him his last respects. Antigone rebels against the law, the new ruler and in the end against everyone. Antigone and Creon, that is Vera Flück and Sven Schelker. Together they are trapped in an arena, surrounded by numerous voices from their city. They renegotiate the age-old conflict, playing all the roles themselves, from messenger to king, in order to get to the heart of the tragedy.

Ancient Greek drama is a dialogue between the main characters and the chorus, between the citizens and their tragic heroines. After the success of 'Onkel Wanja' in Swiss German, Antú Romero Nunes invites a chorus of people from Basel to the Schauspielhaus. Together with the two players, they tell the myth of Antigone in Basel and Bernese dialect for the first time.

On 22 and 23 September, 'Antigone in the Amazon' by Milo Rau can be seen at the Kaserne Basel. The celebrated co-production of the Stadstheater Gent and the landless movement MST will give its guest performance in Basel after stops at the Wiener Festwochen and the Festival d'Avignon. More

Together with the dramaturgy, Basel's Kulturhaus Bider & Tanner has been curating the book table for our plays for many years. Now this selection of books, CDs, DVDs, catalogues and sheet music can be accessed at any time in the online shop. It's worth browsing regularly.

Book table

Mediathek

  • Antigone, Wächter, Haimon, Teiresias –
  • Kreon, Ismene –
  • Chor der Bürger:innen
  • Statisterie Theater Basel

This Antigone is set in antiquity and the present at the same time, in Thebes and in Basel and Bern, and as confusing as that may sound: it works and is fun. (...) An ancient tragedy has not seemed so refreshingly authentic for a long time.

Basler Zeitung

A very informal production, with a lot of humour and allusions to city life. This is real full-blooded theatre. (...) Vera Flück gives Antigone an urgency, the radical attitude of a young generation, perhaps a last generation, that stands up against the law in the name of something higher, greater.

SRF 1 / Regionaljournal

The strength of the production remains the entertaining conveyance of the multi-layered material. The tension holds out without wasting away. Vera Flück plays Antigone as an honest skin that arouses fear and amazement. Her creative playfulness fills the stage.

Nachtkritik

Vera Flück gives Antigone, her fiancé Haimon, a guard and the seer Teiresias. Sven Schelker plays King Creon and Antigone's sister Ismene. The two are magnificent. Staged by Antu Romero Nunes, who can conjure up tensions, relationships and developments between characters on stage, they carry the evening.

Bajour

Further works by Antú Romero Nunes

Antigone
Théâtre

De Lucien Haug d'après Sophocle

A ne pas manquer !
Plus que 5 représentations

  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn
  • Eine Szene aus Antigone
    © Ingo Höhn

  • Première représentation
  • 1 heure 45 minutes sans entracte
  • Intéressant pour les personnes à partir de 13 ans
  • Mit deutschen Übertiteln
  • With English surtitles (except for the first)

Une tragédie d'après Sophocle dans une version en suisse allemand de Lucien Haug

Antigone est en désaccord. Son frère est mort en traître sur le champ de bataille. Le roi Créon refuse de lui rendre les derniers honneurs. Antigone se rebelle contre le droit en vigueur, contre le nouveau souverain et, à la fin, contre tout le monde. Antigone et Créon, c'est Vera Flück et Sven Schelker. Ensemble, ils sont prisonniers d'une arène, entourés de nombreuses voix de leur ville. Ils renégocient le conflit ancestral, jouent eux-mêmes tous les rôles, du messager au roi, afin d'atteindre le cœur de la tragédie.

Les drames grecs antiques sont des dialogues entre les personnages principaux et le chœur, entre les citoyens et leurs héros tragiques. Après le succès d''Onkel Wanja' en suisse allemand, Antú Romero Nunes invite un chœur de Bâlois(es) au Schauspielhaus. Avec les deux acteurs, ils racontent pour la première fois le mythe d'Antigone en dialecte bâlois et bernois.

Les 22 et 23 septembre, la Kaserne de Bâle accueillera 'Antigone in the Amazon' de Milo Rau. La coproduction acclamée du Théâtre municipal de Gand et du Mouvement des sans-terre (MST) fait son entrée à Bâle après avoir été présentée aux Wiener Festwochen et au Festival d'Avignon. Plus

En collaboration avec la dramaturgie, le centre culturel bâlois Bider & Tanner organise depuis de nombreuses années la table des livres pour nos pièces. Désormais, cette sélection de livres, CD, DVD, catalogues ou encore partitions est accessible à tout moment dans la boutique en ligne. Cela vaut la peine d'y jeter régulièrement un coup d'œil.

Table des livres

  • Antigone, Wächter, Haimon, Teiresias –
  • Kreon, Ismene –
  • Chor der Bürger:innen
  • Statisterie Theater Basel

Cette Antigone se déroule à la fois dans l'Antiquité et de nos jours, à Thèbes et à Bâle et Berne, et aussi déroutant que cela puisse paraître, cela fonctionne et procure du plaisir. (...) Cela faisait longtemps qu'une tragédie antique n'avait pas paru aussi authentique et rafraîchissante.

Basler Zeitung

Une mise en scène très décontractée, avec beaucoup d'humour et des allusions à la vie urbaine. C'est du vrai théâtre de pur sang. (...) Vera Flück donne à Antigone une urgence, l'attitude radicale d'une jeune génération, peut-être d'une dernière génération, qui se dresse contre la loi au nom de quelque chose de plus grand et de plus élevé.

SRF 1 / Journal régional

La force de la mise en scène reste la transmission divertissante d'un sujet aux multiples facettes. Le suspense tient la route sans baisse de régime. Vera Flück joue Antigone comme une peau honnête qui suscite la peur et l'étonnement. Son envie de jouer de manière créative remplit la scène.

Nachtkritik

Vera Flück interprète Antigone, son fiancé Haimon, un gardien et le devin Tirésias. Sven Schelker joue le roi Créon et la sœur d'Antigone, Ismène. Ils sont tous deux grandioses. Mis en scène par Antu Romero Nunes, qui sait faire apparaître sur scène des tensions, des relations et des évolutions entre les personnages, ils portent la soirée.

Bajour

Autres travaux de Antú Romero Nunes