Upcoming performances

On stage

Mediathek

Means of Movement – The River of Life

We dreamt of a city by a river, a place with a love for art, for humanism and for exchange. And as good fortune would have it, we were invited to exactly such a place. To Basel. 
Much like the river that runs through this city, the art of dance is always in flux. Through its inherent movement, dance encompasses the singular confluence of physical, emotional and intellectual breadth so fundamental to our human being.
In our work for Ballett Basel, we depart from the stance that there is no one right answer to the questions at the center of our lives. And certainly not in the realm of art. Instead, we strive to create aesthetic experiences that are as open, challenging, beautiful and unexpected as life itself. Art that offers a multitude of answers, a plurality of viewpoints, and a host of new questions to live with.
We believe in an art that is fluid, in dance that at once expresses and renews our shared humanity. We believe that everyone deserves to partake in the transcendence, friction, and freedom that can be found through performance. Dance as encounter. Art as experiment. Together, we search further afield.
Collectively we embark on a journey that will question, with rigor and a good sense of humor, what dance and choreography are today. We will look to the stories at the center of our lives, individual and collective, as event horizons and sites of constant change.
The world is shifting radically. Any attempt to reinvent ourselves and our relationship to the world, absent creative community, will inevitably lead back to where we started. To make art, one has to be courageous and encouraged in equal measure. Ours is an art of moving, a living body in its conditio humana. 
Join us!
And lest we forget – one cannot get into the same river twice, as it and we are never the same. 

First we close our eyes. Then we see beyond the horizon. 
Here, in Basel. 
For you.

A longer version of this text can be found in the media library

Adolphe Binder, Künstlerische Direktorin und Kuratorin und Tilman O'Donnell, Stellvertretende Künstlerische Leitung
Adolphe Binder, Artistsic Director and Curator and Tilman O'Donnell, Associate Artistic Director

Premieres & World Premieres 23/24

Fabrice Mazliah

Meet the Swiss choreographer Fabrice Mazliah and find out more about his work and processes. During a lecture performance, he will talk about his approach to renegotiating the relationship between our environment, objects and our bodies. Up close and exclusive.

  • 15 January 2024, Small Stage
  • In English and German
  • Free admission, registration

Shop


Bobbi Jene Smith

A series of open formats and dialogues with choreographer Bobbi Jene Smith. Meet the rising star of the dance world in a series of up-close encounters that provide a unique insight into the artist's work and processes.

  • Lecture Performances: 13/14/15 October 2023, Kleine Bühne
  • in English and German
  • free admission, registration

Shop


Saburo Teshigawara

A series of encounters with choreographer Saburo Teshigawara. Meet the Japanese master and winner of the prestigious Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale in various formats and dialogues. A unique and deep insight into the work of this exceptional artist.

  • Lecture Performances: 5/7 October 2023, Kleine Bühne
  • in English and German
  • free admission, registration

Shop

For all

No obstacle to moving or being moved. Here, the members of Ballett Basel lead the audience into a rich world of senses, memories and presence.

For children

Spread throughout the season, four movement workshops at primary schools led by members of Ballett Basel introduce children to various forms of movement and play and convey central movement principles of contemporary dance that are typical of the works of Ballett Basel.

  • New spaces for getting to know each other and for encounters
  • In English and German

In addition to the spoken introductions, Ballett Basel offers guided movement sessions with the audience so that they can not only see but also feel some of the movement methods of the individual choreographers. The introductions are led by the Ballett Basel team.

  • New spaces for getting to know each other and for encounters
  • In English and German

Dates

A complete list of all ensemble and team members of the opera can be found here (in German only):

Info

The following content is unfortunately not accessible for screen readers, click on this link to skip the content

Ballett Basel auf Instagram

Prochaines dates

Sur scène

Mediathek

Rencontre et mouvement - le fleuve de la vie

Nous l'avons beaucoup souhaité, un lieu au bord de la rivière, qui aime l'art. Qui soit humaniste et porte en lui l'échange ouvert. C'est ainsi que nous avons eu la chance d'être invités à Bâle pour créer de la danse.
C'est l'art de la danse qui a besoin de tous ces ingrédients pour s'écouler et se développer.Elle est une expression par le mouvement, incomparablement physique, visuelle, émotionnelle et intellectuellement puissante.
Une énergie vitale débridée.
Dans notre travail sur mesure pour (le ballet) Bâle, nous partons du principe que l'idée d'une seule bonne réponse à nos recherches et à nos questions - en particulier dans l'art - n'existe pas. Dans cet esprit, nous souhaitons créer ensemble un art de la danse aussi ouvert, stimulant, beau et inattendu que la vie elle-même.
Nous croyons que les arts sont le lieu fluide où nous pouvons exprimer et renouveler notre humanité complexe. Nous croyons également que chacun mérite la transcendance, la friction et la liberté qui s'y trouvent. La danse est une rencontre. La danse est évolution. Ensemble, nous ressentons plus loin.
Ensemble, nous nous engageons dans un voyage cohérent qui interroge les récits traditionnels du théâtre et de la danse et vous offre des espaces d'expérience et des horizons d'attente qui encouragent, entraînent et donnent du pouvoir.
Le monde change radicalement. Notre rapport à celui-ci doit être réinventé, et cela n'est pas possible sans une communauté créative. Pour créer de l'art qui bouge, il faut être courageux ou encouragé. Le corps vivant en mouvement et sa condition humaine. Il existe encore.
Nous vous invitons : soyez avec nous.
Et n'oubliez pas : on ne peut pas descendre deux fois dans le même fleuve, car ce n'est jamais le même fleuve et nous ne sommes jamais la même personne.

D'abord, nous fermons les yeux. Ensuite, nous voyons plus loin.
Ici, sur place.
Pour vous.

Une version plus longue de ce texte se trouve dans la médiathèque

Adolphe Binder, Künstlerische Direktorin und Kuratorin und Tilman O'Donnell, Stellvertretende Künstlerische Leitung
Adolphe Binder, Directrice artistique et conservatrice und Tilman O'Donnell, Directeur artistique adjoint

Premières & créations 23/24

Fabrice Mazliah

Rencontrez le chorégraphe suisse Fabrice Mazliah et apprenez-en plus sur son travail et ses processus. Lors d'une Lecture Performance, il parlera de son approche visant à renégocier la relation entre notre environnement, les objets et nos corps. De près et en exclusivité.

  • 15 janvier 2024, Kleine Bühne
  • En anglais et en allemand
  • Entrée libre, inscription

Shop


Bobbi Jene Smith

Une série de formats ouverts et de dialogues avec la chorégraphe Bobbi Jene Smith. Rencontrez l'étoile montante de la danse dans une série de rencontres à fleur de peau qui donnent un aperçu unique du travail et des processus de l'artiste.

  • Lecture-performances : 13/14/15 octobre 2023, Kleine Bühne
  • en anglais et en allemand
  • entrée libre, inscription

Shop


Saburo Teshigawara

Une série de rencontres avec le chorégraphe Saburo Teshigawara. Rencontrez le maître japonais, lauréat du prestigieux Lion d'or de la Biennale de Venise, sous différents formats et dialogues. Un aperçu unique et profond du travail de cet artiste d'exception.

  • Lecture-performances : 5/7 octobre 2023, Kleine Bühne
  • en anglais et en allemand
  • entrée libre, inscription

Shop

Pour tous

Aucun obstacle pour bouger ou être bougé. Ici, les membres du Ballet de Bâle entraînent le public dans un monde riche de sens, de souvenirs et de présence.

Pour les enfants

Répartis sur la saison, quatre ateliers de mouvement dans des écoles primaires, dirigés par des membres du Ballet de Bâle, initient à différentes formes de mouvement et de jeu et transmettent des principes de mouvement centraux de la danse contemporaine, typiques des œuvres du Ballet de Bâle.

  • De nouveaux espaces pour faire connaissance et se rencontrer.
  • En anglais et en allemand

En plus des introductions parlées, le Ballet de Bâle propose des séances de mouvement guidées avec le public, afin qu'il puisse non seulement voir, mais aussi ressentir certaines des méthodes de mouvement des différents chorégraphes. Les initiations sont dirigées par l'équipe du Ballet de Bâle.

  • De nouveaux espaces pour faire connaissance et se rencontrer.
  • En anglais et en allemand

Dates

Ensemble de ballet

Une liste complète de tous les membres de l'ensemble et de l'équipe de l'opéra est disponible ici (en allemand uniquement) :

Info

The following content is unfortunately not accessible for screen readers, click on this link to skip the content

Ballett Basel auf Instagram