deutsch english

Ballet

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Opera

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Drama

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Trouble in Tahiti

Opera in One Act by Leonard Bernstein. Libretto by the composer. German translation by Paul Esterházy
An OperAvenir production

In German. Recommended ages: 12 and over

Get closer to the singers than ever before and see how your own living room can be turned into an opera stage! Where else could be better suited to a satire on middle class life? 

To the outside, everything seems perfect – successful businessman Sam lives with his wife Dinah and their son in a little white house with a front garden on the outskirts of the city. But appearances are deceptive: the young couple start arguing at the breakfast table and carry on through the day. Instead of making up in the evening they both decide to go to the cinema to see the musical «Trouble in Tahiti». 

In this hour-long work the American composer Leonard Bernstein, whose centenary is celebrated in 2018, succeeds in creating an entertaining and ambitious hybrid of opera and musical comedy in which he skilfully combines complex harmonies with simple melodies and contrasts moments of lyricism with racy jazz numbers. With a wink of the eye he shows us that money alone will not bring happiness.   

The young director Maria-Magdalena Kwaschik, who recently directed «Romeo and Juliet» in the Baselbiet, ventures beyond Theater Basel once again and into private homes where she will use the particular intimacy of these venues both in the city of Basel and the surrounding countryside as part of her production. 


OperAvenir is sponsored by: HEIVISCH, HIAG Immobilien, Julius Bär, Novartis

CHF 25.-

svg-sprite

deutsch english

Ballett

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Oper

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Schauspiel

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Trouble in Tahiti

Oper von Leonard Bernstein
Eine Produktion von OperAvenir.

Libretto vom Komponisten. In englischer Sprache. Altersempfehlung: Ab 12 Jahren.

Kommen Sie den Sänger_innen so nah wie nie zuvor und erleben Sie, wie das private Wohnzimmer zur Opernbühne wird! Denn welcher Ort eignet sich besser für eine Satire auf das gutbürgerliche Leben?

Nach aussen hin scheint alles perfekt – der erfolgreiche Geschäftsmann Sam wohnt mit seiner Ehefrau Dinah und ihrem Sohn in einem weissen Häuschen mit Vorgarten am Rande der Stadt. Doch der Schein trügt: Bereits am Frühstückstisch beginnen die Streitereien und Vorwürfe und begleiten das junge Paar durch den Tag. Eine versöhnende Aussprache am Abend bleibt aus – stattdessen beschliessen beide, sich im Kino den fiktiven Musicalfilm «Trouble in Tahiti» anzuschauen. 

Dem amerikanischen Komponisten Leonard Bernstein, dessen Geburtstag sich 2018 zum 100. Mal jährt, gelingt mit seinem knapp einstündigen Werk eine unterhaltsame und dennoch anspruchsvolle Mischform aus Oper und Musicalcomedy, indem er gekonnt komplexe Harmonien und eingängige Melodien verbindet und lyrische Momente mit schwungvollen Jazznummern kontrastiert. Dabei zeigt er uns mit einem Augenzwinkern, dass Geld allein nicht glücklich macht. 

Die junge Regisseurin Maria-Magdalena Kwaschik, die zuletzt «Romeo und Julia» im Baselbiet inszenierte, wagt wiederum den Schritt aus dem Theater Basel hinaus, hinein in private Räume, und wird die besondere Intimität der Aufführungsorte in Basel-Stadt und Basel-Landschaft in ihre Inszenierung mit einbeziehen. 


REINHÖREN!

«Prelude» 


 

«I was standing in a garden» 


«What a movie» 


OperAvenir mit freundlicher Unterstützung: HEIVISCH, HIAG Immobilien, Julius Bär, Novartis

CHF 25.-

svg-sprite