deutsch english

Ballet

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Opera

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Drama

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

THOMAS NOONE / JIŘÍ POKORNÝ

Evening of dance with choreographed works by Thomas Noone and Jiří Pokorný
Uraufführungen

«FURTHER» (World Premiere), «DAY ‹WITHOUT› NIGHT» (World Premiere) Recommended for ages: 10 and over

In this season the Catalonia-based Briton Thomas Noone and Czech artist Jiří Pokorný will each create a new work together with the Ballett Theater Basel ensemble. This represents a further opportunity for the company to familiarize itself with two new choreographic styles and, following on from previous seasons, to present the diversity of contemporary dance to audiences in Basel on the stage of the Schauspielhaus. The proximity of the audience to the stage in the Schauspielhaus gives these choreographic works a particular intensity. There is no orchestra pit that separates the audience from the dancers as the power and potential of contemporary dance are translated into movement.  In contemporary dance the body is capable of memorizing perceptions and reflecting on experiences while the members of the audience receive these non-verbal messages through sensual resonances and decode them directly and intuitively.

Thomas Noone has run his own contemporary dance company in Barcelona since 2001 and is Artistic Director of the city’s Dansat! Festival. His new piece «Further» examines emotional intimacy and distance and describes these mechanisms using visual metaphors.

Prague-born Jiří Pokorný hails from the talent factory that is Nederlands Dans Theater, NDT. There he worked with many celebrated choreographers before working independently and has since made a career for himself as a freelance choreographer. In his new piece «Day ‹without› Night» he refers to a poem by the Sufi mystic Rumi. This Persian poem provides him with a source of inspiration in depicting the world of opposites, the space of contrasts and the nature of polarity through dance.


Partner des Ballett Theater Basel:

Preisstufe VI Schauspielhaus (von 30.– bis 80.–)

Recommendation

  • Don't tell the kids

    An evening of dance by Richard Wherlock with music by The Velvet Underground

  • Carmen

    Ballet by Johan Inger

svg-sprite

deutsch english

Ballett

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Oper

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Schauspiel

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Thomas Noone/Jiří Pokorný

Tanzabend mit Choreografien von Thomas Noone und Jiří Pokorný
Uraufführungen

«FURTHER» (Uraufführung), «DAY ‹WITHOUT› NIGHT» (Uraufführung) Altersempfehlung: Ab 10 Jahren

In dieser Spielzeit werden der in Katalonien lebende Brite Thomas Noone und der Tscheche Jiří Pokorný gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble des Ballett Theater Basel je eine neue Kreation erarbeiten. Eine weitere Gelegenheit für die Kompanie, zwei neue choreografische Stile kennenzulernen und dem Basler Publikum, anknüpfend an die vergangenen Spielzeiten, die Vielfalt des zeitgenössischen Tanzes auf der Bühne des Schauspielhauses zu präsentieren. Die choreografischen Arbeiten bekommen durch die Nähe, die das Publikum im Schauspielhaus zur Bühne hat, eine besondere Intensität. Kein Orchestergraben trennt das Publikum von den Tanzenden und lässt so die Kraft und das Potenzial des zeitgenössischen Tanzes in Bewegung übersetzt entstehen. Der Körper im zeitgenössischen Tanz ist fähig, Wahrnehmungen zu speichern und Erlebnisse zu reflektieren, während die Zuschauer_innen diese nonverbale Botschaft durch sinnliche Resonanz empfangen und ganz unmittelbar intuitiv entschlüsseln.

Thomas Noone leitet seit 2001 seine eigene zeitgenössische Tanzkompanie in Barcelona und ist künstlerischer Leiter des dortigen Dansat!-Festivals. Sein neues Stück «Further» thematisiert emotionale Nähe und Distanz und beschreibt deren Mechanismen anhand visueller Metaphern.

Der in Prag geborene Jiří Pokorný entstammt der Talentschmiede des Nederlands Dans Theater NDT. Dort arbeitete er mit vielen renommierten Choreografen zusammen, bevor er sich selbstständig machte und seither als freischaffender Choreograf wirkt. Für sein neues Stück «Day ‹without› Night» bezieht er sich auf ein Gedicht des Sufi-Mystikers Rumi. Die persische Dichtung dient ihm als Inspirationsquelle, um die Welt der Gegensätze, den Raum der Kontraste und das Wesen der Polarität tänzerisch zu bebildern.


Partner des Ballett Theater Basel: 

 

Preisstufe VI Schauspielhaus (von 30.– bis 80.–)

Wir empfehlen auch

  • The Comedy of Error(z)

    Ballett von Richard Wherlock nach William Shakespeare. Musik von Antony Genn und Martin Slattery

  • Don't tell the kids

    Tanzabend von Richard Wherlock. Mit Musik von The Velvet Underground und Max Zachrisson.

svg-sprite