deutsch english

Ballet

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Opera

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Drama

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

SPUK IN DER VILLA STERN (GHOST IN THE VILLA STERN)

Music and Lyrics by Friedrich Hollaender. New dialogues by David Gieselmann
WORLD PREMIERE /?COMMISSIONED WORK

By David Gieselmann, freely adapted from the revue by Friedrich Hollaender. In German. Recommended for ages: 11 and over

The Stern family, with petty bourgeois relatives and nouveau riche in-laws, holds a costume ball at its villa. Among the illustrious guests a «genuine» burglar also arrives – who is mistaken for a good friend in an excellent mask – and is promptly invited by the host to crack open the safe …

In his wickedly funny «revuette» the legendary cabaret artist and composer Friedrich Hollaender («Falling in Love Again») pokes fun at the credulous middle classes who willingly surrender to a criminal and thus seal their own downfall. Given its world premiere in 1931in the Tingel-Tangel Theatre in the basement of Berlin’s Theater des Westens, «Ghost in the Villa Stern» made blatant inferences to the rise of National Socialism in Germany – which is the real ghost at large in the story. Hollaender composed some of his best and sharpest songs for «Ghost in the Villa Stern» including «The Cleptomaniac», «Everything’s the Fault of the Jews» – a powerful satire on anti-Semitism– and «Münchhausen», a song about the power of lies that seems more topical than ever in the age of supposed «fake news». The day after the world premiere the Berliner Volks-Zeitung commented in its review: «Never was there a more fertile time for the satire and parodies of cabaret.  And never was there a more dangerous time for its practitioners. What could be made fun of yesterday without any risk might be dangerous tomorrow.» And indeed Friedrich Hollaender had to leave Germany in 1933 because of his Jewish background.

His «Ghost in the Villa Stern», which has never been seen on stage again since the original production and only survives in parts, will be resurrected in Basel  – with a new  version of the book written by the author David Gieselmann who is renowned for his critical and entertaining comedies. Staged by director Christian Brey, who will push the piece to the limits of cabaret, this high tempo tour de force features stars of the Swiss theatre appearing in over a dozen roles with opera singer Noëmi Nadelmann, chansonnier Michael von der Heide and audience favourite and Theater Basel ensemble member Karl-Heinz Brandt!

Preisstufe VI (von 30.– bis 102.–)

Recommendation

  • EIN KÄFIG VOLLER NARREN (LA CAGE AUX FOLLES)

    Musical by Jerry Herman and Harvey Fierstein

  • DER KAISER VON ATLANTIS ODER DIE TODVERWEIGERUNG (THE EMPEROR OF ATLANTIS OR THE DISOBEDIENCE OF DEATH)

    Chamber opera by Viktor Ullmann

  • Diodati. Unendlich (Diodati. Neverending)

    Opera by Michael Wertmüller and Dea Loher

svg-sprite

deutsch english

Ballett

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Oper

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Schauspiel

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Spuk in der Villa Stern

Von David Gieselmann, frei nach der Revue von Friedrich Hollaender
Uraufführung/Auftragswerk

Musik und Songtexte von Friedrich Hollaender. Neue Dialogtexte von David Gieselmann. In deutscher Sprache. Altersempfehlung: Ab 11 Jahren.

Die Familie Stern, die mit Spiessers verwandt, mit Neureichs verschwägert ist, gibt in ihrer Villa einen Kostümball. Neben verschiedenen illustren Gästen erscheint auch ein «echter» Einbrecher – für einen guten Freund in ausgezeichneter Maske gehalten – und wird vom Hausherrn gebeten, den Geldschrank zu knacken …

In seiner ebenso bitterbösen wie komischen «Revuette» nimmt der legendäre Kabarettist und Komponist Friedrich Hollaender («Ich bin von Kopf bis Fuss auf Liebe eingestellt») das gutgläubige Bürgertum aufs Korn, das sich willig einem Verbrecher ergibt und damit den eigenen Untergang besiegelt. 1931 im Berliner Tingel-Tangel Theater im Keller des Theater des Westens uraufgeführt, spielte der «Spuk in der Villa Stern» unverhohlen auf den aufkommenden Nationalsozialismus in Deutschland an, der als das eigentliche Gespenst umhergeht. Hollaender komponierte für den «Spuk in der Villa Stern» einige seiner erfolgreichsten und bissigsten Songs, darunter «Die Kleptomanin», «An allem sind die Juden schuld» – eine heftige Satire auf den Antisemitismus – und «Münchhausen», einen Song über die Macht der Lügen, der gerade in Zeiten von behaupteten «Fake News» aktueller denn je erscheint. Am Tag nach der Uraufführung bemerkte die Berliner Volks-Zeitung in ihrer Rezension: «Niemals war eine Zeit ergiebiger für die Satire und Parodie der Kleinkunst. Niemals war eine Zeit so gefährlich für die Ausübenden. Was gestern noch risikolos angeulkt werden konnte, ist morgen vielleicht schon gefährlich.» In der Tat musste Friedrich Hollaender 1933 aufgrund seiner jüdischen Abstammung Deutschland verlassen.

Sein «Spuk in der Villa Stern», der seit seiner Uraufführung nicht mehr auf der Bühne zu sehen war und nur in Teilen überliefert ist, wird in Basel wiederauferstehen – in einer neuen Textfassung aus der Feder des für seine kritischen Unterhaltungskomödien bekannten Autors David Gieselmann. Eine rasante Tour de Force, in Szene gesetzt von Regisseur Christian Brey, der das Stück auf seine kabarettistische Spitze treibt und mit Opernsängerin Noëmi Nadelmann, Chansonnier Michael von der Heide sowie Publikumsliebling und Ensemblemitglied am Theater Basel Karl-Heinz Brandt Stars des Schweizer Theaters gleich in über ein Dutzend Rollen schlüpfen lässt!

Preisstufe VI (von 30.– bis 102.–)

Wir empfehlen auch

  • Ein Käfig voller Narren (La Cage aux folles)

    Musical von Jerry Herman und Harvey Fierstein

  • Der Kaiser von Atlantis oder die Todverweigerung

    Kammeroper von Viktor Ullmann

  • Diodati. Unendlich

    Oper von Michael Wertmüller und Dea Loher.

svg-sprite