deutsch english

Ballet

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Opera

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Drama

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE

Opera by Claude Debussy

Drame lyrique in five acts by Claude Debussy. Libretto by Maurice Maeterlinck. In French with German and English surtitles. Recommended for ages: 12 and above.

Taking the play of the same name by the Belgian symbolist Maurice Maeterlinck as its source in his only completed opera Claude Debussy created a drama of the soul in chamber play form about the inability to communicate things that society considers unspeakable.   

In a dark wood Prince Golaud encounters the mysterious Mélisande and falls in love with her. He takes her to his father’s castle and makes her his wife. But Mélisande finds a kindred soul in Golaud’s half-brother Pelléas, with whom she is soon linked by more than friendship. However, the unfortunate couple cannot enjoy their forbidden love and are persecuted by Golaud’s obsessive jealousy…

Debussy was concerned with «the description of what cannot be seen», and his at times almost whispering music ominously expresses what remains unsaid. Characterized by a variety of tone colours typical of impressionism, a portrait is created of a broken family dominated by psychic as well as physical violence. Even one hundred years after Debussy’s death this key work of the modern era has lost none of its urgency.

Barbora Horáková Joly, who began her directing career at Theater Basel, was one of the finalists in the 2017 Ring Award directing competition in Graz. She has directed at Oslo Opera House and elsewhere and now returns to Theater Basel with «Pelléas et Mélisande». The baton will be taken by Theater Basel’s Music Director, Erik Nielsen, who following Korngold’s «Die tote Stadt» and Strauss’ «Elektra» now tackles another 20th century masterpiece.

Preisstufe VI (von 30.– bis 102.–)

Recommendation

  • DIDONE ABBANDONATA

    Opera by Niccolò Jommelli

  • LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR

    Opera by Gaetano Donizetti

  • Diodati. Unendlich (Diodati. Neverending)

    Opera by Michael Wertmüller and Dea Loher

svg-sprite

deutsch english

Ballett

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Oper

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Schauspiel

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Pélleas et Mélisande

Oper von Claude Debussy

Drame lyrique in fünf Akten von Claude Debussy. Libretto von Maurice Maeterlinck. In französischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln. Altersempfehlung: Ab 12 Jahren.

Auf der Grundlage des gleichnamigen Schauspiels des belgischen Symbolisten Maurice Maeterlinck schuf Claude Debussy mit seiner einzigen vollendeten Oper ein kammerspielartiges Seelendrama über die Unfähigkeit, Dinge zu kommunizieren, die in einer Gesellschaft als unaussprechlich gelten.

In einem finsteren Wald begegnet Prinz Golaud der geheimnisvollen Mélisande und verliebt sich in sie. Er führt sie auf die väterliche Burg und nimmt sie zur Frau. In Golauds Halbbruder Pelléas findet Mélisande einen Seelenverwandten, mit dem sie bald mehr als nur Freundschaft verbindet. Doch das unglückliche Paar kann seine verbotene Liebe nicht ausleben und wird von Golauds obsessiver Eifersucht verfolgt …

Debussy ging es um die «Schilderung dessen, was nicht sichtbar ist», und so drückt die bisweilen geradezu flüsternde Musik ahnungsvoll das aus, was ungesagt bleibt. Gezeichnet mit einer Vielfalt an Klangfarben, typisch für den Impressionismus, entsteht so das Porträt einer zerrütteten Familie, in der sowohl psychische als auch physische Gewalt herrscht. Auch hundert Jahre nach Debussys Tod hat dieses Schlüsselwerk der Moderne nichts von seiner Eindringlichkeit eingebüsst.

Barbora Horáková Joly, die ihre Karriere als Spielleiterin und Regisseurin am Theater Basel begann, war 2017 Finalistin beim renommierten Regiewettbewerb Ring Award in Graz. Sie inszenierte u. a. am Opernhaus in Oslo und kehrt mit «Pelléas et Mélisande» ans Theater Basel zurück. Am Pult steht der Musikdirektor des Theater Basel, Erik Nielsen, der sich nach Korngolds «Die tote Stadt» und Strauss’ «Elektra» eines weiteren Meisterwerks des 20. Jahrhunderts annehmen wird.

Preisstufe VI (von 30.– bis 102.–)

Wir empfehlen auch

  • Didone abbandonata

    Oper von Niccolò Jommelli

  • Lucia di Lammermoor

    Oper von Gaetano Donizetti.

  • Diodati. Unendlich

    Oper von Michael Wertmüller und Dea Loher.

svg-sprite