deutsch english

Ballet

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Opera

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

Drama

Premiere Schedule Ensemble

EIN KÄFIG VOLLER NARREN (LA CAGE AUX FOLLES)

Musical by Jerry Herman and Harvey Fierstein

Music and lyrics by Jerry Herman. Book by Harvey Fierstein after the play «La Cage aux folles» by Jean Poiret German translation by Erika Gesell and Christian Severin. In German with English surtitles. Recommended for ages: 10 and above

As Zaza, Albin is the star of the nightclub «La Cage aux Folles» in Saint-Tropez, whose owner Georges has been Albin’s partner for over twenty years. Life in this exotic and glittering world on the beach of the Côte d’Azur could be so carefree if time would not insist on marching on quite so mercilessly. Albin feels he is getting old. There are more and more wrinkles and clothes now have to hide his body rather than show it off. How can anyone in show business grow old successfully? On top of this the world offstage has not got any more open-minded with the passage of time –populists who insist that the law is based on tradition and morals are gaining far too much attention. And how are they going to react when their only son – Georges’ offspring from a brief but intense affair – suddenly decides he wants to marry the daughter of the chairman of the «Party for Tradition, the Family and Morals»? Georges and Albin do what any parents would do for their children: everything. For the sake of their son they even try to deny their own lives, their identity and their love.  

As one might expect, this strategy is doomed to failure. Events turn stormy in this musical comedy that in addition to all its glamour, drag acts, humour and unforgettable songs also asks questions about what really makes a family, ageing and intolerance and encourages us to take a broader view.   By the end one thing is abundantly clear: «It makes no sense if you don’t say; Hey, world, I am what I am!»

Jean Poiret’s comedy «La Cage aux Folles» had an extremely successful world premiere in Paris in 1973. After it was filmed twice there was also interest on Broadway: Jerry Herman – creator of the worldwide hit musical «Hello, Dolly!» – and Harvey Fierstein got to work on the material. In 1983 they produced a sensation that won six Tony Awards.

The young director Martin G. Berger is considered a musical specialist and his productions are distinguished above all by his feel for the comic muse – while showing great affection for the stories, characters, music and genre of the musical itself.

The two leading roles will be taken by Swiss actors with whom Basel audiences are very familiar: Roland Koch as Georges and Stefan Kurt as Albin?/?Zaza can be seen here on stage together at Theater Basel.


Presenting Sponsor:
Stiftung zur Förderung der Theatergenossenschaft Basel

Preisstufe VII (von 30.– bis 118.–)

Recommendation

  • SPUK IN DER VILLA STERN (GHOST IN THE VILLA STERN)

    Music and Lyrics by Friedrich Hollaender. New dialogues by David Gieselmann

  • Don't tell the kids

    An evening of dance by Richard Wherlock with music by The Velvet Underground

  • Tartuffe

    Comedy by PeterLicht after Molière

svg-sprite

deutsch english

Ballett

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Oper

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Schauspiel

Premiere Spielplan Ensemble

Ein Käfig voller Narren (La Cage aux folles)

Musical von Jerry Herman und Harvey Fierstein

Musik und Gesangstexte von Jerry Herman. Buch von Harvey Fierstein nach dem Stück «La Cage aux folles» von Jean Poiret. Deutsch von Erika Gesell und Christian Severin. In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Übertiteln. Altersempfehlung: Ab 10 Jahren.

Albin ist als Zaza der Star des Nachtklubs «La Cage aux folles» in Saint-Tropez. Dessen Besitzer Georges ist seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren sein Lebensgefährte, und das Leben in dieser bunt flirrenden Welt am Strand der Côte d’Azur könnte so unbeschwert sein, wenn die Zeit nicht so erbarmungslos voranschreiten würde. Albin spürt, dass er alt wird. Die Falten werden immer mehr, die Kleider müssen mehr verdecken als betonen. Wie soll man mit dem Altern im Showbusiness umgehen? Hinzu kommt, dass die Welt ausserhalb des Bühnenhimmels mit dem Fortschreiten der Zeit nicht eben weitsichtiger wird – immer wieder bekommen Populisten, die das Recht auf Tradition und Moral gepachtet zu haben glauben, viel zu viel Gehör. Und wie soll man damit umgehen, wenn der einzige Sohn, Georges’ Spross aus einer kurzen, aber heftigen Affäre, plötzlich heiraten will, und zwar ausgerechnet die Tochter des Vorsitzenden der «Partei für Tradition, Familie und Moral»? Georges und Albin tun, was wohl alle Eltern für ihre Kinder tun: alles. Für ihren Sohn versuchen sie sogar, ihr eigenes Leben, ihre Identität, ihre Liebe zu verleugnen.

Dass das nicht gut gehen kann, ist absehbar. Turbulent geht es zu in dieser Musicalkomödie, die neben all dem Glamour, Travestienummern, Humor und unvergesslichen Songs auch die Fragen nach dem wahren Kern einer Familie, dem Älterwerden, nach Intoleranz stellt und dazu auffordert, «über den Tellerrand hinauszuschauen». Am Ende ist eines unverrückbar klar: «Es hat keinen Sinn, wenn man nicht sagt: Hey, Welt, ich bin, was ich bin!»

Jean Poirets Komödie «La Cage aux folles» wird 1973 in Paris mit grossem Erfolg uraufgeführt. Nach zwei Verfilmungen zeigt schliesslich auch der Broadway Interesse: Jerry Herman – der Schöpfer des Musicalwelterfolgs «Hello, Dolly!» – und Harvey Fierstein nehmen sich des Stoffes an. Ihnen gelingt 1983 eine Sensation, die mit sechs Tony Awards ausgezeichnet wird.

Der junge Regisseur Martin G. Berger gilt als Musicalspezialist, und seine Inszenierungen zeichnen sich vor allem dadurch aus, dass er der heiteren Muse gern auf den Zahn fühlt – dies jedoch mit einer grossen Liebe zu den Geschichten, den Charakteren, der Musik und dem Genre Musical an sich.

In den beiden Hauptrollen werden die dem Basler Publikum bestens bekannten Schweizer Schauspieler Roland Koch als Georges und Stefan Kurt als Albin / Zaza auf der Bühne des Theater Basel zu erleben sein.


Presenting Sponsor:

STIFTUNG ZUR FÖRDERUNG DER THEATERGENOSSENSCHAFT BASEL.

Preisstufe VII (von 30.– bis 118.–)

Wir empfehlen auch

  • Spuk in der Villa Stern

    Von David Gieselmann, frei nach der Revue von Friedrich Hollaender

  • Tartuffe oder das Schwein der Weisen

    Komödie von PeterLicht nach Molière

svg-sprite